What makes Windows 7 and Windows Server 2008 ‘Secure by Default’

Security is an integral part of how Microsoft’s new Client (Windows 7) and Server (Windows Server 2008) are designed and coded.

Microsoft Security Development Lifecycle

The concepts that make up the Microsoft Security Development Lifecycle (SDL) were formed with the Trustworthy Computing (TwC) directive of January 2002. At that time, many software development groups at Microsoft instigated "security pushes" to find ways to improve the security of existing code.

Becoming a mandatory policy in 2004, the Microsoft SDL was designed as an integral part of the software development process at Microsoft. The development, implementation and constant improvement of the SDL represents a strategic investment for Microsoft, and an evolution in the way that software is designed, developed, and tested.

Watch this video to know what makes Windows 7 and Windows Server 2008 ‘Secure by Default’ and ‘Secure by Design’



The Microsoft SDL has now matured into a well defined methodology. The increasing importance of software to society emphasizes the need for Microsoft and the industry as a whole to continue to improve software security. To that end, Microsoft committed in 2005 to supporting a more secure and trustworthy computing ecosystem and has made guidance papers, tools and training resources available to the public.

Next Steps

Know more about the Security in Windows Server 2008 and Windows Server 2008 R2

Know more about Security Enhancements in Windows 7




Leave a Comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s